book review · quick reviews

Quick Reviews: I Believe in a Thing Called Love/The Raven Boys/Broken Prince (Paper Princess #2)

Happy Thursday, y’all! Apologies for being so MIA, but the library gets especially busy during the summer and I’ve taken on some extra hours and I am also enrolled in two summer courses (my second will be starting in a few days).

Here are just a few quick reviews for a few more books I finished recently.

31145133I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo
YA Contemporary Fiction, Romance, High-School
My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

Class valedictorian and over-achieving student, Desi Lee, is an A+ embarrassment when it comes to boys. But she believes that as long as you have a plan, anything is possible. She immediately falls for brooding artist, Luca, and is inspired by Korean dramas to formulate a detailed list of steps to get him to notice her.

I have always gone through random phases with Korean dramas. I’d binge watch one or two then abandon them for a while before getting into another. I haven’t watched any in a few years, but I think you just need to watch one to get the gist of what makes K-dramas, k-dramas. This book was hilarious and there were plenty of adorable moments, but I wasn’t the biggest fan of Desi because her need to control everything around her. I understood her actions 99% of the time, but there was one thing she did on purpose to get her and Luca closer together that really turned me off from her. Desi’s dad is the sweetest and Luca really keeps it real. If you’ve watched k-dramas before this will be funny, but if you haven’t you may still want to do a little more research beforehand.

15743650The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
YA Fiction, Supernatural/Fantasy
My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

I’m really not good at summarizing dystopian and fantasy books, so here’s what I can tell you: Blue lives in a house filled with psychics and has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. Gansey, with the help of his friends, is looking for Glendower, a sleeping Welsh King.

I’ve had this on my shelf for a while now and everyone raves about it constantly, so I decided to dive right in. Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is kind of strange and I found myself confused throughout the duration of the book.  But once I was about halfway through the book, I had a harder time putting it down. I haven’t really formed any attachments with any of the characters except for Gansey whom I think is really charming. Definitely not the book to turn to if you want romance, but a pretty solid supernatural fantasy with some southern charm.

29759858Broken Prince (Paper Princess #2) by Erin Watt
New Adult Contemporary Fiction, Romance, High-School
My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Ella has fled the Royal mansion after catching Reed in what looked like an intimate moment with his father’s ex-girlfriend, much to the entire family’s disappointment. Reed may have resented Ella in the beginning, but now he’s determined to keep her safe. Terrified that he’s lost her forever, Reed will do anything to win her back. Anything.

Click here for my review of book 1 in the series. Y’all, I have said it many times and I will say it again, I am TRASH for TRASH. I wasn’t sure if I was emotionally ready to read this one yet because Paper Princess left me SHOOK…but I couldn’t stay away! These books are crazy addicting and I ended up finishing this one all in one day because I could not put it down. The thing I love about these books is that these characters are no joke. You know those intense feelings you get when you meet a character you hate so much that you want to throttle them or pull them by the hair? This books is all of those feelings brought to life! When these characters get pissed off, they are not afraid to punch whoever’s to blame. I mean, they’re totally at an advantage because they’re all privileged and don’t have to worry about the consequences of their actions…but man oh man. This story is ridiculous…but I love it.

Fun fact: I knew Erin Watt was a pseudonym, but I didn’t realize two authors actually wrote this series.

Hope these quick reviews were helpful or interesting!

One thought on “Quick Reviews: I Believe in a Thing Called Love/The Raven Boys/Broken Prince (Paper Princess #2)

Leave a Reply

