book to show · tv show review

TV Show Review: Riverdale Season 1

After reading and watching 13 Reasons Why (book review/netflix show review), I needed something to distract me from it. When my Netflix app notified me that the entire first season of Riverdale was available for viewing, it seemed like a sign.

What’s funny, though, is that in the first episode, amidst the cast that you are introduced to, one of them is football jock, Reggie, who is played by the same actor who played Zach Dempsey in 13RW LOL!! When I saw him, my first reaction was “ZACH? What are you doing here?! I’m trying to get away from 13 reasons why!”

Anyway, let’s get onto what I liked and didn’t like about season 1…

c715c7c2-bd0c-4c3d-88c6-3f7863cf5dca

What I liked:

  • Mystery/Suspense Genre – I love how dark this show is and how it’s basically a murder mystery. It totally kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn’t turn my eyes away (also, some of the super attractive characters contributed to this too, bahahaha).
  • Different from the comics – I had started to become interested in the Archie Comics when I heard that they were re-issued and I was thinking of reading them, but then I heard about this show and I wasn’t sure which to tackle first. I did a little research online and learned about how different the show actually is compared to the comics and was really happy about that because I now I feel like I can enjoy both without worrying too much about spoilers. This buzzfeed article details how some of the characters have transformed from the comics to the tv show.
  • Betty x Jughead – This is definitely my favorite OTP from the show! Betty struggles from something internal (it’s not totally made clear, but it’s hinted in the beginning that she takes medication), but doesn’t let it take over her life. She’s a good person with a good heart. Jughead is a loner, he hates his birthday, and he tends to have a very bleak outloof on life. But inside, he cares deeply about those closest to him. He and Betty make for a seriously sweet couple and I love how they accept each other’s insecurities and can be dependent on one another.
  • Archie x Veronica – I wasn’t sure how I felt about this couple at first, but they really grew on me and they actually have really good chemistry. I’m glad that the writers haven’t totally ruined these characters for me. Veronica has gone from snobby rich bitch to understanding sweetheart, and Archie loves music, football, and has apparently become majorly hot over the summer. I don’t really know what else to say except….they’re just good together.
  • Music – Aside from the amazing soundtrack, I’m surprised to say I enjoyed that the cast singing throughout the show too. Archie’s songs are super sweet while Josie and the Pussycats have some amazing covers. I especially loved their renditions of Sugar Sugar and I feel love.

What I didn’t like:

  • Teacher/Student Romance – Absolutely not. This is a trope that has always been icky to me. Maybe it’s because I was an education major, but nope. I can never get behind this. I think I hated it the most in this case because Archie is a teenager and that basically makes Ms. Grundy a pedophile. #SorryNotSorry, girlfriend. Besides, you were an old lady in the comics. Who decided to make you hot? When she was gone, I said Good riddance! 
  • Cheryl Blossom – I wanted to like Cheryl and I totally feel for her because her family is filled with sociopaths. But girlfriend thinks she can go around mouthing off to people and they won’t fight back, even though they fight back every time and she just ends up embarrassing herself…every time. Also, she is so wishy-washy. She has gratitude for everyone who stands up for her or takes care of her when she needs it, but by the next episode she’s back to hating them. Girl should ask Betty if they can share medication.
  • Polly Cooper – This girl is the definition of naive and she just rubbed me the wrong way whenever she was on screen. Hers and Jason’s parents were both pretty crappy to her, but Polly came off as more whiny teenager than soon-to-be mom.
  • Hermione Lodge – Surprisingly, she was my least favorite parent in the show. No one is worse than the Blossoms, but Hermione, like Cheryl is ridiculously wishy-washy. Her husband is in jail and she continues to try to defend his actions, amidst trying to date Archie’s father. It seemed like she was ready to up and leave her husband to his fate, but then she gets all excited about the prospect of him coming home…WHY?? Hopefully she grows the other half of her brain by the next season.

Verdict: Surprisingly, I’m giving this show 4/5🌟🌟🌟🌟! I found myself completely drawn into it and I even binge-watched the season a second time around. The acting, overall, was awesome. I think the small-town environment was a uniquely dark take on the typical American High School. I am totally hooked on BettyxJughead and ArchiexVeronica, so I’m really scared if they’ll survive future episodes! I seriously cannot wait for season 2. I may actually watch it on tv, instead of waiting for it to make it to Netflix. I’m really interested in finding out more about Hiram Lodge and also the ending of this season literally killed me (pun totally intended)…AGH!

Have you watched Riverdale yet?? What did you think?!

 

5 thoughts on “TV Show Review: Riverdale Season 1

  1. I just want to say that I also really disliked Polly.
    Like I felt bad for her at times. But overall, It was just a feeling of “you have other things to worry about, stop being dumb.” LOL.
    The ending of the finale was just too much for me. 😦
    Can’t wait for season two and more of Betty and Jughead. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely fell in love with this show and completely agree that it’s dark tone and the Bughead romance made it amazing!!
    And I completely agree with the teacher-student romance thing. It just seemed too weird to get that level of teenage angst from a teacher – and it really made dislike Archie towards the beginning of the series.
    But one character casting I didn’t really like was Jason Blossom. He’s made out to be this big jock and popular rich kid but I really didn’t get that vibe from the choice of actor… oh well, I guess he’s not a major character (anymore)!
    Seriously can’t wait for the next season (by which I mean, I can’t wait for Jughead in leather)!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg! i never even realized that he looked like Edward!! You know, my subconscious probably knew it and that’s why i don’t like him 😜

        Like

Leave a Reply

