ARC · book review

ARC Review: Textrovert by Lindsey Summers

30960329

  • Textrovert by Lindsey Summers
  • YA Contemporary Fiction, Romance, High-school
  • My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

I picked up this Advanced Reader’s Copy from the library where I work.

I grabbed this ARC along with another social-media inspired ARC, Anti-Social by Jillian Blake which I’m currently reading.

This is a really cute story about a girl and a boy who accidentally swap phones and have to relay messages for each other. With their phone screens between them, they find it easy to confide in one another, making meeting in person that much more exciting and nerve-wracking. But these two may have a lot more in common than they thought.

Overall, I really liked the idea of the story – it was super adorable. I thought the flirty texting back and forth was giggle-worthy. I think social media books aren’t only accessible but super interesting because whatever goes on in them, I’m always wondering would this actually happen…it could…couldn’t it??

The writing isn’t anything spectacular which, to me, is pretty typical of most Wattpad stories. But it’s a quick and easy read if you want something light-hearted and fluffy. I’m surprised the author didn’t keep the two leads a part for very long. I liked the whole anonymity thing and I felt like she could have taken more advantage of that. I’m pretty sure they met in real life not even 50% into the book and the whole premise of the book is the idea that Keeley and Talon may have fallen for one another before meeting. It’s pretty similar to PS I Like You by Kasie West, but at least that one kept the secret for a decent amount of time.

I also hate when characters try to get the main character’s attention by guilt-tripping them. This always seems to be the case with an annoying sibling or a crappy best friend, and in this book, it’s both. Nicky spent the whole summer with a study group and when Keeley suddenly has her own plans, Nicky is whiny. Same thing goes for her twin, Zach. What I dislike even more is when the main character gives in and starts to feel like crap. Like, GIRL, if you’re gonna be you and find something else that makes you happy, then own up to it. But also…what was so great about Keeley that everyone needed her attention?? I think it’s because she’s kind of a doormat, but whatever.

Also, this book calls to attention the idea of forgiveness when it comes to taking advantage of someone’s online privacy. There is a character in here who does something that I thought to be unforgivable – sharing someone’s private photos as an act of revenge. It’s totally unacceptable, but how long is long enough to hold a grudge against someone who genuinely regrets what they did?

Verdict: A super fast-paced read if you want something cute and are interested in the whole social-media romance trend. Although…Talon and Keeley could have just saved themselves the trouble and face-timed one another…OR the author could have dragged out the mystery longer.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Textrovert by Lindsey Summers

Leave a Reply

