book review · new adult · young adult

Book Review: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

34857305

  • Paper Princess by Erin Watt
  • YA/New Adult Contemporary Fiction, High-School, High School, Romance
  • My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    “My skill, if I have one, isn’t dancing. It’s my ability to believe that tomorrow can be a better day.”

Based on the synopsis of this book, I knew it was going to be something I wanted to read, and so I impulsively bought the entire trilogy for my kindle months ago, LOL.

If you know K-Dramas, this story totally gave me Boys over Flowers vibes (even though I’ve never watched it…I only know what it’s about, LOL). But since it’s an American book, I was expecting more Gossip Girl vibes. PS I don’t really like Gossip Girl…I read the first book and hated it.

Ella and her mother have always been on the move, going wherever the money leads them, struggling to make ends meet. When her mother dies, Ella is truly alone and is determined to go to college and make something of herself – even if it means succumbing to her mother’s less-than-desirable ways of money-making. But when millionaire Callum Royal plucks Ella from the gutter, bringing her into his mansion and adopting her as his daughter, her life is changed completely…but not necessarily for the better. Prep school with the rich & famous is even more nasty than living on the street apparently. Not only that, but Ella has to be surrounded by the worst of her classmates 24/7 – her new step brothers who rule the school and will do whatever it takes to make sure she knows she doesn’t belong in their world.

So…the story focuses on teenagers…and I was expecting this to be trashy YA…but this was DEFINITELY a trashy New Adult book, LOL. 99% of the characters in this book are extremely vulgar and there are a lot of graphic sexual encounters. Nothing wrong with that! It’s just not what I was expecting.

With that said, everyone in this book is a complete jerk to Ella and while I wanted to punch everyone in their throats, they didn’t piss me off nearly as much as the characters in Gossip Girl did.

Ella is one tough cookie. She’s the kind of person who thinks in their head “I wanna punch her in the face” when someone tries to humiliate her or demean her…and then actually DOES it. Ella has the balls that no one ever seems to have! While I don’t always condone her action, she stays totally true to character throughout the entirety of the book. She is honest with herself and will speak her mind, but she still has heart and is probably the only character who can redeem herself if she ever falls too deep. I can see her being the hero for everyone in this book. She’s also one hell of an optimist in the midst of her life being constantly ripped a part by those around her.

I’m a sucker for bad boys with bad attitudes and the Royal brothers are BAAAAAD. They’re like the rated R version of the Ouran High School Host Club.

ouranhs2

They treat Ella like the scum of the earth, talk crap about her in her presence, and aren’t afraid to make sexual advances toward her if it means she’ll get out of their lives. But these boys aren’t terrifying enough to make Ella run away and when she fights back, even the Royal boys can’t deny her natural charm…if that’s what we should call it. Also, all these boys are unfairly hot and handsome! UGH.

Verdict: I could NOT put this book down! And that ending was absolutely painful!! Everyone who has read it has told me that book 2 would destroy me and I’m not sure if I’m emotionally ready for it! I picked this up thinking it would make me happy but NOOOOO…this has to be another heart-ripping read! If your not-so-guilty pleasure is trashy books like myself, you’ll probably enjoy this. It is definitely focuses more on the of YA, so if you’re not comfortable with sexy scenes or if you hate snobby rich people, you may want to pass on this.

 

Leave a Reply

