book review · chick-lit · kindle · new adult

Book Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

34324605

  • Confess by Colleen Hoover
  • New Adult Contemporary Fiction & Romance
  • My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟 (2.5 – 3)

“I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.”

After loving It Ends with Us so much, I was very excited to read Hoover’s other works and added nearly all of them to my TBR. In fact, I pretty much had a spot reserved on my favorite authors list just for her in preparation. When I heard that a tv adaptation was being made for Confess (available at go90.com and on the go90 app since April 4th, 2017), I knew I wanted to read this right away so I quickly purchased the kindle version (the only thing I allowed myself to purchase online during Lent).

According to Goodreads, I am a part of the minority who wasn’t exactly thrilled with Confess and I’m surprised. I definitely did not hate this book by any means, but it was nowhere near as gripping or as heart-tugging as IEWU.

Auburn Mason Reed moves to Dallas, years after the death of her first teenage love, to rebuild her life. By a stroke of luck, she decides to walk into an art studio looking for a job and meets mysterious artist, Owen Mason Gentry (O.M.G.). Auburn is just about ready to take a chance on him, until she discovers a secret of his that could threaten everything she’s been working toward.

I wish I had read this one before I read IEWU because maybe then I’d stop comparing the two so much, but I just can’t help it. In just a few words, Auburn is a doormat. For her, taking control of her life means letting people walk all over her and boss her around. She’s also a very bland character. Even when the secret behind her motivation to rebuild her life is revealed, I didn’t really like her any better. Compared to Owen, she is inexperienced and so she slut-shames herself:

“What the hell am I doing? I don’t do this kind of thing. I don’t invite guys into my home.

Texas is turning me into a whore.”

This ACTUALLY pissed me off. Seriously? Who says that?

Also, according to Auburn, her roommate Emory (at least in the beginning) is crazy when in reality, she’s probably the only clear-headed person in this book. I was #TeamEmory the entire story.

Overall, I actually liked Owen, but there were a few things about him that rubbed me the wrong way. Aside from being totally hot, I thought his whole anonymous confession-based artwork was actually really interesting and unique.  Similar to a certain character in IEWU, Owen is supposed to represent everything right for Auburn – the good guy, the person who supports you but doesn’t let you make stupid decisions and hopefully teaches you to take charge and figure out what the right decisions are.

What I didn’t like was that he was actually kind of controlling too. I feel like his attempt to get Auburn to take control of her own life actually made him bossy. During their love scene, he tells her to say all these things…something along the lines of “tell me you deserve me…say that I deserve you.” Like…no, Owen. That’s weird. I would’ve been like “SHUT YOUR MOUTH AND JUST MAKE LOVE TO ME, DAMNIT.” (sorry, I’m yelling LOL).

But he’s not always wrong. Owen is good at reading people and trusting in his instincts. Auburn, for the sake of her “secret” tries to convince herself that the bad people in her life are good and vice versa because she’s…a coward. In my opinion, Auburn is almost everything that Lily (from IEWU) wouldn’t allow herself to be, which is just such a shame because it means I still can’t keep myself from comparing the two!

Also, I didn’t like the stupid little jokes between Auburn and Owen…they were weird. I feel like CoHo threw in some random ‘cute’ things for the heck of it, like Owen’s initials being OMG. It was funny at first, but then Auburn kept pointing it out and I was like ALRIGHT, I GET IT…HAHA. Also the whole “we have the same middle name – it must be fate” thing was kind of dumb.

I truly think there’s a difference between a secret and a confession. A secret can be anything that no one knows about. But a confession implies an act – revealing something about yourself that, in doing so, makes you feel ashamed or guilty. Auburn and Owen have secrets. They have something in their lives that they aren’t willing to share with just anybody and in my opinion, they aren’t anything to be ashamed of. In fact, neither of them are guilty of anything and they owe each other nothing. So why do they feel so bad? When their secrets were eventually revealed, I was totally underwhelmed. I was like “Really? That’s the big secret?” 

I was annoyed that the first 5-6 chapters focused on JUST the first night Owen and Auburn actually met and the chemistry wasn’t really…as substantial as they make it out to be.

I know it sounds like I hated this book, but at some point, I finally did find myself wanting to lie down and go back to my kindle just so I could finish reading. I think Owen’s artwork was the best part if this book.

Also, the ending is supposed to be a big reveal too and again, I was completely underwhelmed. I think that’s the perfect word for this book…underwhelming.

Verdict: I’m not sure who I would recommend this to because I loved IEWU, but found this to be bland in comparison. But there are tons of people out there who loved IEWU and loved this one just as much and maybe even more. I, personally, wouldn’t recommend this if you’re looking for a New Adult book with a strong female heroine. But if you’re just looking for a trashy romance, this might be okay for you.

I still plan on watching the show, so I’ll be sure to come back to do a review of that once I do.

Leave a Reply

