book buys · book haul · bookish life

Bookish Life Update & Book Haul

Happy Monday, bibliophiles! How was your weekend? If you follow me on my bookstagram, you’d know that a friend of mine from college came to my library for a seminar last Friday and so we obviously met up and went out to dinner! I haven’t seen many of my friends from Westminster in almost 2 years and I was so happy to see her.

17495174_1348441885194559_2802643770422591488_n

After her seminar, she stopped by my house for a bit and then we went to Cheesecake Factory to eat. If you were wondering, we got the Avocado Spring Rolls & Calamari as appetizers, I got the Teriyaki Chicken as my entree, some Pinot Grigio, and their newest Hazelnut Chocolate Cheesecake for dessert (it is officially my new, favorite cheesecake from them…that is…until they come up with something even more amazing LOL).

FullSizeRender (4)

17494165_1771571796504411_4042348473679347712_n

After dinner, I asked her if we could stop by Barnes & Noble which was in the same shopping plaza and I picked up quite a few books! If you didn’t already know, I’m a Catholic and do follow Lenten principles. This year, I decided to give up online shopping (with the exception of Kindle E-Books) for the next couple weeks until Easter and so I haven’t been able to do much shopping (online shopping is my passion LOL). And so, I was extremely happy to drop some mad money at B&N LOL. She’s not a bookstagrammer, but I was so happy that L is a bibliophile too and while I usually hate shopping in stores/shopping with other people, I actually had a lot of fun walking around the store with her, talking about books we read and making recommendations for each other.

Here are the books I picked up:

Save the Date by Mary Kay Andrews
M.K. Andrews is definitely an author I’ve been wanting to get into for a while just because her books always come up under my recommendations because I’m just so into adult contemporary romances. I was happy to have picked this book up for just just $7!

This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen
My friend, L, told me she looooves Sarah Dessen books. I picked this one up at random and the bookseller said this one was actually her favorite of all of Sarah Dessen’s works. And if you didn’t know, Sarah Dessen is the 2017 Recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards award for her contributions and dedication to teen literature!

Caraval by Stephanie Garber
I’ve been dying to get my hands on this since I added it to my TBR on Goodreads a while back! When it was finally released, there has just been so much hoopla over it on Bookstagram, so I just had to get my own copy.

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly
When I saw this all over my bookstagram feed during the hype of the film’s release, I was so confused because I didn’t realize it was even a book! I definitely picked this up just because I really enjoyed the movie and wanted to be a part of the following haha.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
I’ve been debating whether or not to just borrow this from the library or get my own copy, but the cover just called to me and I knew I had to get it! I was so tempted to get the sequel too. I’m notorious for buying whole series before even reading any of the books haha.

Before she left, we also stopped by our local bubble tea shop, and continued to hang out more at my house. I already miss her!

Did you haul any books recently? Have you read or do you own any of the books that I picked up??

P.S. I finally reached 900 followers on bookstagram! 🙂

One thought on “Bookish Life Update & Book Haul

Leave a Reply

