book recommendations · book review · new adult

Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

17333925_388423984889802_665211690219995136_n

  • It Ends with Usย by Colleen Hoover
  • New Adult Contemporary Fiction, Romance
  • My Rating:ย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ (4.5)

โ€œMaybe love isnโ€™t something that comes full circle. It just ebbs and flows, in and out, just like the people in our lives.โ€

Going into this book, I only knew three things about it..

  1. It’s about a girl and two boys who love her.
  2. Nearly everyone who’s read it loved it.
  3. It was most definitely going to break my heart.

When I decided to read this, I was hesitant. Not because I thought I was going to be disappointed, but because I knew that the story was going to be heavy based on everyone’s reactions to it. As I reached for it on my shelf, my heart stopped and asked me “Are you sure you’re ready to read this?”

What’s so hard about reviewing this book is that I know as soon as I mention the central theme, you’re going to know exactly how it turns out (which is what happened to me). Everyone kept saying that the story was not what they expected it to be which is really surprising to me.

But regardless of its predictability, this story is most definitely an important one to read and you’ll know when you read it. I think one of my favorite lessons from this story is that not all bad people are actually bad. As is evident in almost any situation, there are good people who do bad things. Even if those behaviors are unforgivable, it doesn’t make them any less human. It’s a fact that is hard to face, but can’t be denied. Knowing this, we have to rememberย that we have limits – both in how much we can take and how much we can give. And sometimes, our greatest strength and greatest act of love is in our ability to walk away.

The story by itself is easily 4 stars because it’s beautiful, significant, but fairly predictable. But I gave it that additional star on GR after reading the Author’s Note at the very end, after the Epilogue. Believe it or not, it was my favorite part of the whole book. Colleen Hoover’s inspiration for her book was heart-breaking and absolutely empowering. I love that she had the same feelings I felt when I was reading it – what if she deleted this…what if this never happened…but I LOVE HIM!ย I think knowing that she felt that way, was like a salve to my wounded heart by the end.

Verdict:ย I’m sorry but not sorry that I couldn’t say more, because I don’t want to give any more away. I think you should go into this story at least semi-blind to appreciate it more. Really put yourselves in Lily Bloom’s shoes and Ryle’s and Atlas’s…what wouldย youย do knowing what was happening to someone you love more than anything in the world? I definitely teared up at the end, but I really criedย during Colleen’s Closing Note.ย I don’t know if I would read this story again just because it really did break my heart. But I amย so gladย I read it and definitely recommend it!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

