adult · book recommendations · book review · chick-lit

Book Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

25883848

  • The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
  • Adult Contemporary Fiction, Office Romance, Chick-Lit
  • My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“The trick is to find that one person who can give it back as good as they can take it.”

It is no secret that I am totally obsessed with Adult Chick-Lit Romance books…I have said it before and I will say it again: beneath my sarcasm and saucy attitude, I am a hopeless romantic. My obsession started with my co-worker/bff JD introduced me to some Nora Roberts and then Susan Mallery…and then the rest is history!

I added The Hating Game to my TBR a while back after seeing how insanely good its reviews were and didn’t pick it up to read until recently, after JD had just raved about it.

Lucy Sutton and Joshua Templeman are executive assistants to the co-CEOs of a publishing company. Since the merging of two separate companies and crossing each other’s paths, the two have hated each other. They are complete opposite in the workplace. Lucy sports her flamethrower red lipstick on the daily, wears bright clothes, and actually cares about her co-workers’ opinions. Josh is a neat-freak, wears his shirts in a very specific colored sequence every week, and values his co-workers’ fear of him if it gets the job done. The pair find themselves competing for the same promotion and their hatred for one another has finally reached its boiling point.

I absolutely LOVED this book. This isn’t even one of those I hate that I love it kind of books either. It is pure CHEESE and I can totally see it become the next big rom-com to hit the theatres!

Lucy is such a clever and saucy little lady. And when I say little, I mean it literally! She comes at just 5 feet tall and her humble background as the daughter of strawberry farmers makes her that much sweeter. Her homesickness for her parents makes her even more adorable. In trying to be more understanding of her co-workers, she tends to get taken advantage of which sucks, but is understandable. But she is also insanely loyal to her boss who equally appreciates Lucy’s hard work and dedication.

Similarly, Josh is extremely loyal to his own boss, but is the devil incarnate to his co-workers. No one messes with him and that is only one his sexiest qualities. I fell head-over-heels in love with Josh from the first page. I’ve always had a thing for the guy who hides his true feelings beneath sarcasm and mean-ness, which are actually the result of suppressed insecurities. The best part of this story was watching Joshua’s tough exterior melt away as he and Lucy grew closer.

The chemistry between Josh and Lucy is written really well and totally swoon-worthy. I want a Josh in my life! They are pretty nasty to each other in the office which is fun to read about and it really spices up the story. But their affectionate and tender moments are just as enjoyable and instead of rolling my eyes, I was squeezing them tight and squealing with joy!

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was how insanely slow Lucy is when it came to figuring out Josh. But the story, overall, totally makes up for it. The last few chapters seriously GOT ME and I couldn’t stop smiling and giggling (although, I was doing all that and more during the entire time I was reading this!).

Verdict: I noticed that this book has been getting a lot of attention from adult and YA readers alike. I was really happy to see that my friend who only reads YA added this to her TBR! This book was so wonderful and brings a smile to my face when I think about it! I will definitely be reading my favorite parts of this (if not the whole thing) continuously in the future.

One thought on “Book Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Leave a Reply

