book recommendations · book review · young adult

Book Review: King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

16789589_608848955986623_2676454225357045760_n

  • King’s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard
  • YA Sci-Fi Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance
  • My Rating: ★★★★★

Relevant pages:
Book Review: Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard

“Now I’m in a king’s cage. But so is he. My chains are Silent Stone. His is the crown.”

After being just slightly underwhelmed by Glass Sword compared to Red Queen, King’s Cage really kicked everything up a notch and ended up ripping my heart right out of my chest.

King’s Cage picks up right after Glass Sword with Mare captured and imprisoned by Maven. She is made to kneel before him, follow him and others around as they wish, and act as a tool against the Scarlet Guard. All in all, I was about as emotionally and psychologically decrepit as our Lightning Girl.

FINALLY, Aveyard finally gives me something to really love about Mare despite all her selfishness and guilt over her own mistakes. This book proves she’s a fighter and not just in combat. Under constant watch in Maven’s castle, Mare is at the center of a psychological warfare. But she reminds them that even though they can rip her to shreds, dress her up and parade her around, and even whisper their way into her mind, they still can’t have her. Maven will never own Mare where it counts – in her head and in her heart.

What makes this book extra special is that it features chapters told from Cameron’s and Evangeline’s point of views. Thanks Aveyard – pick the two salitiest people ever. But theirs prove to be really insightful and as much as I want to punch them in their faces, they are powerful women. Like Mare, Cameron and Evangeline have grown up and been raised a certain way and every time they finally think they’ve broken free or gotten what they want, they still find themselves bound to causes they don’t believe in or want to fight for.

Whatever, Aveyard. Do whatever you want – As long as you don’t put me in Maven’s head – that’s the LAST thing I will ever need in this lifetime. Maven is screwed up and you will find out why once you read this book. Like Queen Levana from The Lunar Chronicles, you come to understand who Maven is and how he came to be this way. I found myself at war with my feelings for him, but I have officially given up hope. (But when it comes to Levana, I didn’t feel any sympathy for her whatsoever – stupid buttface).

I don’t want to say anything about Cal because I think that’s just too much. BUT…I LOVE HIM. I DO. I JUST WANT TO HUG HIM AND SLAP HIM…AND THEN HUG HIM…AND THEN SLAP HIM AGAIN.

Verdict: King’s Cage is the middle book you want. I don’t think Glass Sword was terrible at all, but it definitely wasn’t as good as this one. The ending in this one nearly killed me and I’m about ready to KILL for the next installment!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

