book recommendations · book review · young adult

Book Review: Did I Mention I Miss You? (DIMILY #3) by Estelle Maskame

14719295_621004368093540_1858185671827521536_n

Related posts:
Book Review: Did I Mention I Love You?
Book Review: Did I Mention I Need You?

“What if your first love is forever?”

I know what you’re thinking…”Jasmine…you JUST posted a review for book 2 on Monday.” Trust me guys…I KNOW. But that’s just how addicting this trilogy has been and I can’t believe I’m finished.

It should be noted that the synopsis for book 3 on Goodreads and in print is actually incorrect!

This is what it says on my copy of the book and on GR:

It’s been a year since Eden last spoke to Tyler. A year since he left her all alone after nearly destroying their family. But Eden picked herself up and headed to Chicago for college where she found a new boyfriend—someone who doesn’t run when things get tough. She’s finally moved on from Tyler…right?

Despite their breakup, Tyler’s determined to rekindle what they once had. He’s restarted his life in Eden’s hometown of Portland, and he wants her in it. But when a tragedy draws them together, Eden must search her heart and decide if Tyler is worth the risk once and for all.

When I’m really enthralled with a series, I try to avoid reading the synopsis as they tend to give away important plot points. I happened to read this synopsis first and as I was reading, I was so confused when a few things mentioned didn’t actually happen!

I contacted the author via twitter (@EstelleMaskame) and she speedily confirmed that the wrong blurb was printed and has been fixed (apparently not everywhere though, haha).

estellemaskametwitter

I’m not going to lie you guys – my eyes were pretty much rimmed with tears for the duration of the first few chapters! I’m really happy with how it started – Eden was totally pissed with Tyler after he left at the end of book 2. Eden’s anger, in my opinion, was completely justified. While Eden (and I) come to understand the reason for Tyler’s departure, I think the way he left and the timing were so Tyler but extremely hurtful. Eden was left to deal with the mess the both of them made at home, has suffered judgment from her father and step-brother Jamie, and whispered ridicule from neighbors and other people who don’t even know her. Btw, Jamie is an absolute JERK and I wish he and his girlfriend would make kissy face on the other side of the country instead!

I was completely heart-broken for Eden and Tyler and it was PERFECT.

I want to say that I was sort of disappointed with how it progressed toward the ending, but I can’t really because I was truly misled by the misprinted synopsis. As I got further into the book, I kept getting anxious when some of the things mentioned in the summary weren’t happening.

I’m just a little on the fence when it comes to Tyler’s redemption from himself and his inner demons. Most of it was totally real – Tyler’s fear that he was becoming like his father is understandable and an actual problem that I can understand. I think what he does in Portland, away from Eden, is really amazing but it just felt too surreal – a little too unrealistic.

What I liked about the ending of the book (albeit a bit corny) was that there were still some loose ends. There are still a few people who obviously aren’t happy with Tyler and Eden and I think that that’s fair and real. The ending is of the great imperfect kind (if that makes sense).

Verdict: I wish I didn’t read the synopsis of the book prior to reading because it made me think different things were going to happen and it really messed with my head. BUT I still really enjoyed this series. Tyler and Eden are surprisingly human for a YA contemporary couple. Their struggles were real and for most of the story, their actions stayed pretty true to character. I really am sad that this series is over and I can definitely see myself reading this again in the future!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

