book recommendations · book review · young adult

Book Review: A Torch Against the Night (AEITA #2) by Sabaa Tahir

16230200_1848440925438540_9120952683346264064_n

  • A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2) by Sabaa Tahir
  • YA Fantasy, Adventure, Dystopia
  • My Rating: ★★★★★

“So long as you fight the darkness, you stand in the light.”

Dang guys…DANG. Sabaa Tahir blew me away with An Ember in the Ashes (one of my favorite reads in 2016). But for the second book in the series, this was amazing. Middle books in a series tend to be hard to love because if the first one was good, you’re dying to find out what happens in the end.

Middle books tend to just keep the action going and boy did this book ever do that! There was no room to breathe with this book. Something was always happening, people were always plotting, someone was dying, someone was killing…I could hardly put it down! I tend to read multiple books at once so when I feel like I need to take a break from one book, I can switch to another. But this one was so hard to take a break from – I consumed at least 100 pages every time I picked it up again.

Elias is so easy to love because he’s one of those characters who loves the people around him so hard, that he doesn’t realize that he takes away their choices by always deciding for them. He’s always putting others first and going off on his own to save those he holds dear, but he often forgets that it’s their choice too.

What bothered me about Laia from the first book (not even that much, just a teensy bit) was that she was almost too damsel-in-distress. Tahir’s world is brutal to women (really all genders of all ages) and I wanted the heroine to be really kick-ass. Even in this book, Laia was just such a noob (for lack of a better term) and she makes so many mistakes that just make me want to shake her. But when she makes up for her mistakes, she packs one hell of a punch and I remember all the reasons why I love her (and ship her and Elias SO HARD).

Helene is the character I want to hate (because I hate anyone who interferes with my ship), but I can’t because she’s so strong despite all that she suffers both mentally and emotionally. Helene is supposed to be the badass heroine I want and since book 1 she has had everything she loves and prides taken away from her and dangled before her. While Elias and Laia are being chased and hunted, Helene is trapped and tortured psychologically, forced to serve an Empire that has betrayed everything she believes in.

There is one person I’ve hated since book 1 and I won’t name any names…but all I’m gonna say is I WAS RIGHT…THAT PERSON IS THE SCUM OF THE EARTH! *cough cough*

But ANYWAY….this book was awesome awesome AWESOME. This is one of those series that I have almost nothing to complain about except for the fact that I always have to wait at least a year for the next book to come out.

Verdict: This book is an excellent continuation in a really beautiful, dynamic, and heart-stopping series. If you haven’t started reading this series, get on that RIGHT NOW.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Torch Against the Night (AEITA #2) by Sabaa Tahir

  1. Great review, Jasmine! That book really was awesome! Definitely one my favourite reads in 2016! I agree with everything you said here, especially about a certain someone who is THE SCUM OF THE EARTH! Ugh I was sooooo mad (but it made reaffirmed why I was NOT a fan of this person from the get-go!).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. YES FOR REALS! I can’t even think about them without feeling ALL THE RAGE 😡I can’t believe we have to wait until next week for it! Book 3 will probably be even more amazing than Torch (if that’s even possible 😂)

        Like

Leave a Reply

