book recommendations · book review · young adult

Book Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

16228579_187539271727332_6323520293096652800_n

  • P.S. I Like You by Kasie West
  • YA Contemporary Fiction, Romance, High-School
  • My Rating: ★★★ (3.5)
  • Featured in my January 2017 Reads as Favorite Cover of the Month.

Honest to God, when I finally started getting into reading, I never thought I’d cach myself reading fluffy books. I started off reading only Fantasy and Dystopian books with passionate, dramatic, tragic, heart-wrenching romances. But then my co-worker, JD got me into those adorable, sexy rom-com adult books (Susan Mallery anybody??) which piqued my interest in cute contemporary romance YA.

P.S. I Like You is classic high-school fiction – you’ve got quirky Lily Abbot who buys most of her clothes from the thrift shop, saved up baby-sitting money for months to buy her own guitar, and loves her equally weird family. She’s classically unlucky as she often gets in trouble in class (whether or not it’s actually her fault), she can barely form a sentence in the presence of the opposite sex, and her best friend Isabel’s ex-boyfriend, Cade, is her arch-rival. She listens to music that she believes no one else listens to and one day, scrawls some of her favorite band’s song lyrics onto her desk in Chemistry class. The next day, she’s surprised to find that someone has continued the lyrics and left a message for her too. This leads her and her new mysterious pen-pal to write to each other via letters and each day she gets closer and closer to falling for this person. But who is he?

This story is totally predictable but totally adorable. I found it hard to get into at first as Lily is totally cliche and she sort of made me cringe. I loved that she was socially awkward, but I wish she’d own it more. She never seemed to stand up for herself which was obviously 99% of her problems and whenever she made an attempt, it was painfully unsuccessful. She also lets her family sort of push her around which is not cool, but I guess family is family.

Also, her friend Isabel was kind of annoying. A friend who forces you on a date and knows you’re uncomfortable is not a friend – I could never understand people like that. You also find out she’s a bit of a jerk later too, but I won’t give that away.

The second half of the book is much better when Lily tries to find out who her secret pen-pal is. When she did find out, it drove me crazy how she wishy washy she was about revealing the truth to him too (it’s not hard to figure out who it is when you read this). It was so obvious how they felt about each other and I just wanted to scream “IT’S HER! IT’S HER! LILY’S YOUR SECRET CHEMISTRY GIRLFRIEND!”

Overall, this is probably everything you’re expecting it to be, but it really is a sweet story and I sort of wished I saved it for Valentine’s Day!

Verdict: I would recommend this! If you’re looking for something easy and fluffy, definitely check this out.

P.S. The boy on this cover is really cute…like…where did they find him? He better not be in high-school or I’m going to jail…

Leave a Reply

