book recommendations · Uncategorized · work

Chat n’ Chew (book talks)

rosavisit1Happy Thursday, y’all. Yesterday, the teen librarian, M and I visited one of our local middle schools for a “Chat n’ Chew.” It’s something we did last year which proved to be really awesome and successful with the kids so we were really happy to be invited back!

Basically, English teachers get to choose some of their most avid readers to come to their library during their lunch periods. While the kids eat their lunches, M and I sit down with them, tell them about some teen programs that we have at the public library and talk about some of our favorites reads!

I book talked Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (sci-fi adventure, mixed media), Fate of Flames by Sarah Raughley (urban fantasy), and It’s All Your Fault by Paul Rudnick (contemporary fiction, humor).

My favorites that M book talked were All American Boys and Saving Hamlet, the latter which I also read recently and loved!

All the kids were totally excited about all the different books we talked about – particularly IlluminaeSo many kids came up to me afterward asking for me to put the book on hold for them, so I told them to just stop by the library if they really wanted to read it. One kid was so excited that he texted his mom to pick it up from the library for him and by the time M and I got back to work, she was there to pick it up!!

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books! If you were visiting a middle school to do some book talks, what books would you really want to share with them?

2 thoughts on “Chat n’ Chew (book talks)

  1. I love this! It’s so much fun when you get to share the amazing-ness that is books, let alone share it with children who are excited to read! Good on you for doing something like this! I haven’t read any of the books that you discussed (although Illuminae is definitely on my tbr list), but I did get to read an ARC of Saving Hamlet and loved it! Oh, and congrats on launching your blog, it’s gorgeous and I cannot wait to read what you have to say! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so sweet and awesome and I’m just so happy to have met you!! I’m so thankful that M asked me to partake in school visits with her because it’s just such a great experience for me as a librarian-wannabe ! Illuminae is great and I hope you get to read it soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

